Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Is research needed?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by villiarp, Nov 20, 2002.

1. villiarp

villiarp Junior Member
    7+ Year Member

Does research really count for that much when applying to medical school? or can I get away with not doing any.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. whitesoxfan

whitesoxfan Member
    7+ Year Member

if you're not interested in research don't do it. do volunteer work and explain that you are more interested in patient interaction. i have no research experience and interviewed everywhere i applied, except san antonio.

4. UCLAMAN

UCLAMAN Air Jordan Collector
    7+ Year Member

Don't do something because you think medical schools will like it. Research is not a necessity to get into medical school. I had a friend who got into UCSF with zero research. At the interview they asked him why he hadn't done any research. he said "because I think research is boring." (in those words)

You are better off doing something you enjoy. Not everyone who gets into medical school did research as an undergrad.

SN20SCH likes this.
  5. BobbyDylanFan

BobbyDylanFan Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

i asked a doctor this same exact question. he responded, if research was needed to get into medical school, i'd be an accountant by now!

i chose to participate in research, but only because i like it. the choice is yours

6. gogiants

gogiants Senior Member
    7+ Year Member