Is swearing in front of kids bad for them?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Merely

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’m a med student entering psychiatry and I admittedly don’t know much psychology yet unfortunately. I had a patient in passing ask me if it’s bad for her kid if her husband swears in front of the kids. Her kids are 1,3 and 6. I wasn’t really sure if there was any literature on this and felt bad I couldn’t provide a clear answer. Is there any data on this? My psychiatry attending didn’t really know so I thought I’d ask my psychology colleagues since you guys probably know more about childhood development and stuff like that. Thx

Members don't see this ad.

Children are sponges. They pick up everything you say or do, especially in the toddler to latency ages. Will swearing irreparably harm them? Probably not. I don’t know a single parent who hasn’t accidentally dropped an F-bomb or other word in front of their kids. BUT, if those children are in daycare/preschool/school and start frequently repeating what mom or Dad say, mom and dad better be prepared that staff will bring that to their attention. Especially if it causes conflicts with another child, or leads to the child being defiant or aggressive more so than peers. Following rules, being respectful, being kind, being a good friend, etc are all lessons being taught at that age. Kids in large group settings who can’t do those things, are more likely to face some kind of consequence. Mom and dad are better served teaching their kids to identify what they are feeling than to repeat swears or other negative behaviors. A kid occasionally repeating a swear word is not a big deal in most settings.

Reactions: 3 users
Are we talking about swearing in front of the kids, or at them?