1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

Is the usmle really necessary?

Discussion in 'Medical Students - DO' started by Scorcher31, Jul 25, 2006.

1. Scorcher31

Scorcher31 Member
    10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    I'm a first year med student at umdnj-som, but haven't started yet and really want this cleared up for my own piece of mind. Obviously we only need to take the COMLEX exams if we want to match into a DO residency. Here is where my question arises. Do we need to take the USMLE exams if we want to match into a not very competitive MD residency such as ER or general surgery? Every student I've talked to says something different. I'm not sure if the USMLE exams are an actual requirement for all MD residencies or if COMLEX is ok unless the MD residency is super competitive.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. JonnyG

JonnyG IN the hospitals....
    7+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    general surgery is now considered to competitive. It is easier to just take the USMLE to cover your bases then to find out later you needed to take it. ER would probably workwith the USMLE.

You will get a million different answers on this.

4. Buckeye(OH)

Buckeye(OH) 5K+ Member
    10+ Year Member

Fellow [Any Field]

Why do you need piece of mind? Its not for another two years.

Since when is allopathic surgery, 'not very competitive'?

COMLEX = accepted; USMLE = generally preferred by allo schools.

5. Scorcher31

Scorcher31 Member
    10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]