General Admissions & OTCAS Is there any chance for me? Or should I find a different career.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pheezy

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone!
I am currently wanting to apply to OT school and I have everything I need but my GPA isn't good and my GRE score is below minimum. I have my bachelors in Psychology.
GPA: 2.4 GRE:280

I have taken the GRE twice and only went up 2 points. I took a course and got extra help for it and it didn't work. My GPA is low because my year I had no clue what I wanted to do and it has taken me forever to even get it to that.
I have been depressed and upset for the last 2 days since I've taken the GRE because when I got that score I knew that I had no chance of OT school. I am extremely passionate about OT. I want nothing more than to help others and be a positive influence in other people's lives.

I have over 100 hours of volunteer work, 45 hours of observation hours under certified occupational therapists and I have been a babysitter to special needs children for over 5 years. I am a hard working, patient, Compassionate and unbelievably devoted to helping the children I have worked with.

I don't want my GPA and GRE score to reflect who am I, or how I will succeed in grad school. I know by looking at it, you would just toss my application out the window but this is something I am unbelievably passionate about that I will strive to be the best.

I don't know if I should just give up with this Dream and find a job that pertains to my psychology degree or should I apply and have a killer personal essay. Or go to OTA school then bridge over..
I'm 22 and I don't want to be in school forever because I don't have the money to go back and take classes to raise my GPA. I already have enough student loans.