Is there any work in the mental health area that...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hum1

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
does not require any licensure?

I have a bachelor's degree in psychology, an MSc in clinical psychology and an MA in psychoanalysis (from Portugal and the UK).

I am realizing that one cannot do any kind of work in California related with mental health area without having a licensure (psychologist, LMFT, LCSW, LEP, LPCC). Since I only hold a master in clinical psychology and not a PhD, I cannot apply to become a psychologist. My question is.... Then why do people do a major, a bachelor’s degree or even a master in psychology if this does not lead you to any licensure and thus you cannot do any work in the area of psychology?

Thank you for your replies...

Members don't see this ad.

Many master's programs can prepare you to sit for licensure exams and the 3000 hours of clinical experience required. The programs will list this eligibility (and their respective accreditation, depending on the field) in their promotional materials.

Other master's programs are intended to be used as stepping stones to prepare for applying to doctoral programs.

Reactions: 1 user
CaliMac, thank you for your reply.

My question is also: Are there any jobs in the mental health area which do not require a licensure, or anyone who has contact and works in this field has to have necessarily a licensure?

It makes perfect sense to take a master in order to prepare for a doctoral program. But does this means that a master degree does not have any professional value by itself? And one has to consider the very slim odds of getting accepted in a doctoral program, so wouldn't this make a master degree a huge financial and time consuming risk because without a doctoral program it becomes irrelevant?

Members don't see this ad :)