Is there room for research trained NPs to assist MD/PhDs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AScientificNurse

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a nurse that switched from a focus in medicine to get my RN. (I had great grades, I just valued patient contact more than working as an MD would give me.) While being wait listed for some RN classes, I finished a science degree and a certificate in biomedical research assisting. I've looked for MD/PhD forums to post this question, but this form seems my best bet. My dream job would be a position as the right hand man of a MD/PhD in translational medicine. During my science degree, I had an internship where I was in the OR observing brain tumor resection that was brought back to the lab, grown, and tested for effective treatments. I maintained the cell cultures for this. I worked a separate project as well, using genomic editing to try to create a study model to untangle the inositol polyphosphate cascade. I loved every bit of it. From seeing the patients preop to being the bench monkey. Anyway, does anyone think there is a place for a research trained Nurse practitioner to assist the MD PhD in managing the very complicated schedule of clinical and research duties? I can't shake that this is what I want to do. I don't even know where to begin educationally. Would I need both nursing and science degrees? Would I need to be a NP? Or would I go further following a science track? Does anyone have resources for me to figure this out?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I have heard this person speak once in the past: Martha Curley. You should look her up and consider reaching out. She is a big advocate and I definitely think there is a place for all kinds of healthcare workers to contribute to the knowledge base.