Is this how you felt about choosing Anesthesia for a career ?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BlitznFire

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there, I'm a long time lurker, first time poster. I am finally at that stage of deciding on what I want to do for the rest of my life, and now I need some perspective on whether I am a good match for anesthesia and vice versa.

Ever since starting medical school, I have been drawn to field of Anesthesia because of the science behind it. I am an average student, but I consistently scored atleast 1 deviation higher than average on physiology and pharmacology. I feel like I am more competent with memorizing a few facts and combining those with logical thinking to solve a problem rather than memorizing a ton of information and being able to implement that knowledge by putting patterns together. I know that like most people, I really enjoy what I am good at.

During this 3rd year, I didn't get to do a rotation in Anesthesia, but on surgery I showed up to the OR early, and begged the anesthesiologist to let me start IVs and intubate whenever I could. I got the chance to observe some U/S guided regional blocks, epidurals and so on. I really enjoyed doing hands on work, being on my feet, using technology and talking to the patients even if it was very briefly. I also felt like most of the anesthesia people were laid back, hard working and showed great situational awareness.