Is this something to put on my application?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Imani44

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I work part-time in the food industry and was recently offered a promotion to shift leader. Shift leading at my job is a lot of responsibility because I would be running the store during night shifts when the general manager doesn't work. The problem is with school being full time, volunteering, and everything that comes with being pre-med I'm not sure if taking the position is worth it. I would need to work atleast 20 hours a week. Would this leadership position be an impressive thing to point on my app?
Would it be worth it?

Members don't see this ad.

It would be notable, but if it caused you significant hardship in other areas of your life, I would advise against taking the position. Honestly, I had nail-bitingly small "leadership experience" on my app, and I did just fine. You will, too, either way. :)

Would it be impressive that you're a shift leader? Probably not so much.

Would it be impressive that you're able to balance work, academics, and extracurriculars without them suffering? You betcha.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Would it look nice? Sure. Would it look better to have good grades, because you have time to study and sleep? You bet. By a lot.

You're the only one that knows how you can handle it. It's not clinically related, and will not be one of your most meaningful activities (or...it might?)