Is USA worth it?

Discussion in 'Australasia and Oceania' started by FelixFelicius, Jun 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FelixFelicius

Hey guy,

i dont know if this is the right forum to post this question, but I am a medical student in australia, and have been considering a career in the US for the past few months. I've been looking up all the extrance exams and stuff and feel that with some study i should be able to pass them, but the thing thats on my mind is, is the US worth it? The main attraction that US has is that it has some of the worlds best hospitals and doctors, while aus is excellent as well, the US more regarded. But from what i've been told, the doctors get crappy salaries over there, compared to interns over here, who easily endup making > $75,000 in their first year out of med school. and the pay only gets better. Whats the pay like of residents in the US? And when does it start to get umm...'respectable'...?

Cheers

P.S. if this isnt the right forum for this, then please let me know where to post this!

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. agranulocytosis

Fellow [Any Field]
    Try the General Residency Issues forum. BTW, isn't Adelaide one of the best cities in the world to live in? Just wondering why you'd wanna leave that.

Edit: Sorry I meant Sydney.

#2 agranulocytosis, Jun 14, 2008
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2008
  4. FelixFelicius

Clearly you've never been to adelaide. its not a city, just a big village, you drive 5 ks in any direction from the city centre and end up in the country!

5. agranulocytosis

Fellow [Any Field]
    Sorry I meant Syndey. There was this list of best cities to live in that came out by some organization and I remembered Adelaide as one of them, not that it was high on the list, just that I remembered it.

6. Instatewaiter

Instatewaiter But... there's a troponin

Attending Physician