Is volunteering as red cross first responder also considered a clincal experience?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

papi_md

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello sdn,
Im planning to go to med school. Currently I work as an IT consultant and I hold a degree in physics. As I mostly read here in sdn, non trad students should get clinical experience regardless. I live in the philippines btw and would like to go to a US or even carribean med school. Currently IM taking BLS training in red cross and start to eventually volunteer as a first responder. Will this suffice or even considered as a clinical experience? In my country, no doctors allow shadowing or hospitals that offer any hospital volunteering (except if you are a resident doc or nurse). How about volunteering in blood letting events? Are they also considered as clinical experience? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

If you work with patients it's clinical experience.

I have my EMT certification where I live, but I can't work with the agency here because it's a full time only agency, so it'd be a real pain and probably foolish to try and pull 36+ hours on a truck (it's A-B shift, so you can't just say you wanna work weekends) and a full time course load. I'm trying to find an alternative with my certification but not having much luck.

Members don't see this ad :)
absolutely! Anything that shows that you care about people's health

I have my EMT certification where I live, but I can't work with the agency here because it's a full time only agency, so it'd be a real pain and probably foolish to try and pull 36+ hours on a truck (it's A-B shift, so you can't just say you wanna work weekends) and a full time course load. I'm trying to find an alternative with my certification but not having much luck.
Are there any volunteer ambulance corps in your area? Volunteer as much or as little (barring any minimum hour requirements) as you'd like.