Issues with current PsyD Program

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DBT-2016

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

This is my very first post on this forum, and likely one of many to come as I am about to begin my journey toward my PsyD in roughly 1 week. The program I am enrolled in, which was my top choice where I currently live and had wonderful stats regarding exam pass rate, etc. However, as I do the last preparations before classes begin I am in a very frustrating and anxiety provoking situation.

I have my masters in clinical counseling, and am a licensed therapist. Roughly 4-5 months ago I submitted nearly all my master credits to be considered for credit towards my PsyD. Currently I am looking at completing my doctorate degree in about 4 years, instead of the usual 5. However, I begin classes in about a week and still do not have a set schedule. I have 6 courses, however two of those are courses I submitted transfer credits for way back when. I have sent several emails to my academic advisor, the only individual I really have to communicate with on this matter, and finally had the stress the importance of getting a decision on these courses by the end of next week. Without a decision, not only can I not order any books but I also am unable to plan things on my end. Not to mention the amount of anxiety it gives me simply knowing that I am only a few days from beginning my program and have no solid schedule. If these classes are granted, which I hope they are, I then have to (somehow) scramble to fill them in a weeks time (and that is assuming I get a decision in the next couple days).