It looks like the dental schools just had a spike in avg. gpa...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

asuhdds

Bootstraps
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I'm a pre-dent student my overall gpa thus far (not including my winter quarter) is about 3.17, and my science gpa is a 3.0.

This year has truly been a turn around year, ever since summer (2 courses) I've been posting about an avg 3.7, and I look to do around 3.5 or better for my winter quarter.

Anyways I've been looking up the avg gpas of those accepted at dental schools and it really looks like the scores have skyrocketed in the past 2 years.

I think UOP had an avg gpa of like 3.2 a year or 2 ago, and now their avg gpa for the class this year is like 3.5.

My question is... if I apply my 4th year with an overall GPA of 3.5 would I have a chance at say UCLA? Currently I just got an internship with an orthodontist, cancer research with an oncologist which would guarentee a publication or 2, sunday school teacher and camp counselor, volunteer at a dental school, volunteer at a clinic, a leadership position in an IFC fraternity, and divest from sudan club.

Do I have a fightin chance?

I'm getting more worried... the reason why I'm shooting for UCLA is because I'm from the area and I don't want to leave my girlfriend... lawl if you want.

Members don't see this ad.

You definitely have a chance. You are right that the average GPA for dental schools has risen dramatically recent, but a 3.5 is still a very competitive score. I'm not sure how competitive it is for UCLA but I do know that some students here on SDN that are matriculating at UCLA have a 3.7+ GPA and 20+ DAT. It seems to be a very competitive school to get into.

Good luck.

darn, i have to bust my ass then these next 2 years...

I really wish I was focused my first year instead of just.. languishing and not giving a damn.