I've never been this depressed in my life. I'm here to seek advice on where to go from here.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PreDentalNeedingAdvice

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
First off I do apologize on this being a "first post" on a new account. I'm actually a regular member on here, but I chose to use a new account for anonymity as I'm going through a pretty difficult time in my life and didn't want to post under my regular username. I hope you understand.

So I recently started a masters in biomedical science to repair a poor undergrad transcript riddled with withdrawals with repeated attempts. All in all I graduated undergrad with a 3.4 oGPA and a 3.2 sGPA. I elected to do a one-year masters in biomedical science because of the vast amount of withdrawals I had associated with my undergrad science courses. I wanted to show I could handle a rigorous science curriculum. The problem is, I'm a week into the masters program and I've realized that I can't handle it. I've never taken a microbiology or cell biology course up to this point, and both are part of the program at a masters level (500 and 600 level). I feel as though others are picking up on the material whereas I don't have a foundation to build on. I feel so lost in those classes and it's making me question whether I can handle dental school or not. I guess I expected to be taught micro and cell from the ground up in this program, but they jumped straight into the material like everyone already had it before.