capta1incrunch

5+ Year Member
Jul 3, 2009
Status
Hi - I just got my MCAT scores back and I need some advice on where to apply.

I'm going to be a Cornell grad with a 3.92 GPA. Of course, 5 of those are A+s, which are 4.3s at Cornell so my AMCAS GPA will be a bit different.

MCAT is 11/10/11/N.

I have good to great ECs - standouts being several years of research in a Microbiology lab, chair on the school Habitat for Humanity board, SMDEP, much shadowing, and co-authoring a scientific poster, winning a poster competition in intro bio among 670 other students.

I am applying to the U of Arizona Med School and Stanford, this much I know for sure (I am an Arizona resident). That being said, I need to round out my list with reaches, matches, and safeties. I want to generally stay on the West Coast, save the few on the list...

These are the ones I'm mulling over.

U of Colorado Denver
Oregon
Michigan Ann Arbor
UPenn
U of Rochester
Dartmouth
Brown
UChicago
Northwestern
Rush University
U of Nevada-Reno
U of Illinois-Chicago

Last edited:

GoSpursGo

Allons-y!
Staff member
Administrator
10+ Year Member
Sep 30, 2008
Status
Fellow [Any Field]
Moving to What are my Chances.

mmmcdowe

Duke of minimal vowels
Staff member
Administrator
Gold Donor
10+ Year Member
Sep 13, 2008
Status
Resident [Any Field]
I don't know if a class award for a bio poster is worth posting, but if its important to you I guess it is.

Any clinical experience besides shadowing?

OP
C

capta1incrunch

5+ Year Member
Jul 3, 2009
Status
I don't know if a class award for a bio poster is worth posting, but if its important to you I guess it is.

Any clinical experience besides shadowing?
The SMDEP was mainly a whole summer of clinical experience. Outside of that, no.

mmmcdowe

Duke of minimal vowels
Staff member
Administrator
Gold Donor
10+ Year Member
Sep 13, 2008
Status
Resident [Any Field]
The SMDEP was mainly a whole summer of clinical experience. Outside of that, no.