JC --> UCB Transfer Student, need MCB course advice!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HigHal320

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I'm a junior transfer student to UCB for the coming fall semester. I'm going to be majoring in MCB with an emphasis in CDB. I'm thinking of taking Phys8A and IB131 for my first semester there. Is this doable for a first year transfer student? I was warned by some friends who went to Calso orientation to take just one major requirement course. Any advice from former students is welcomed :)

Thanks,

Alan

Members don't see this ad.

I think that's very doable. IB 131 is taught by Prof. Diamond and in my opinion, is the easiest upper division mcb required course (it serves as an elective for CDB). It is really easy and the tests are lecture based (and they are webcast so u don't even need to attend lecture/can rewatch lecture).

Physics 8a is another ballgame. It was easy for me but that's because I enjoy math. It is a calculus based physics class which requires the use of integrals and derivatives. A lot of people struggle with it but I still think for most people it is WAY easier than something like ochem.

lakersfan said:
I think that's very doable. IB 131 is taught by Prof. Diamond and in my opinion, is the easiest upper division mcb required course (it serves as an elective for CDB). It is really easy and the tests are lecture based (and they are webcast so u don't even need to attend lecture/can rewatch lecture).

Physics 8a is another ballgame. It was easy for me but that's because I enjoy math. It is a calculus based physics class which requires the use of integrals and derivatives. A lot of people struggle with it but I still think for most people it is WAY easier than something like ochem.