1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

JHU vs. Brown?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by js416256, Apr 20, 2007.

1. js416256

10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    So I was hoping some of the knowledgeable people on this forum could lend me some advice. I am a high school senior who has been accepted to Brown and Johns Hopkins and I am very interested in pursuing either an MD/PhD or a PhD in the future. I have had some lab experience the past 2 years, doing cancer research at a local university and a cancer center.

My question is when selecting which university should the abundance of research be a key aspect if I plan on going into research? I know JHU is regarded as a medical powerhouse but I have also learned of the competitiveness and harsh grading whereas Brown is seen as somewhat more diverse, humanities-focused, and weaker in the Life Sciences.

As of right now I am focusing on the undergraduate experience in deciding but everyone is continually insisting that I should go to Hopkins because the research opportunities there are abundant (plus they gave me a $10,000 research grant).

Any advice or opinions would be greatly appreciated!!!

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. fotografía

fotografía Junior Member
    7+ Year Member

Medical Student