Job Chances for International Dentists

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drfromindia

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a dentist from India.In Minnesota now.I was looking for dental assistant job openings here.It seems to be very difficult to get a DA job with out undergoing the dental assisting program which is for 10-11 months.

Can anyone help me out in figuring out the following?

1)would anyone consider international dentist , at least equivalent to dental assistant?
2)I think DANB allows foreign dentists to take the CDA exam.But if i clear that would that alone be sufficient to get a job?
3)Is there any classroom/online course for dental assisting which are of shorter duration ( less than 4 months )
4)Is there any other options for an international dentist to be employed in the dental field ?

Members don't see this ad.

I am a dentist from India.In Minnesota now.I was looking for dental assistant job openings here.It seems to be very difficult to get a DA job with out undergoing the dental assisting program which is for 10-11 months.

1)would anyone consider international dentist , at least equivalent to dental assistant?
2)I think DANB allows foreign dentists to take the CDA exam.But if i clear that would that alone be sufficient to get a job?
3)Is there any classroom/online course for dental assisting which are of shorter duration ( less than 4 months )
4)Is there any other options for an international dentist to be employed in the dental field ?
To answer the first couple of questions,
1) Not unless you complete the DA program/certification.
2) Probably not, unless you have GC/EAD to work. Most clinics require a DA certification/X-Ray certification etc to hire you.

Check the MN state dental board website-- if you meet all their requirements, you can apply for licsense as a dentist.
or
In Florida you can be a dental hygenist- check their website also.

Members don't see this ad :)