navyerdoc

5+ Year Member
May 3, 2012
Status
Attending Physician
I am a board certified US Emergency Medicine physician and trying to find a job in Germany. Does anyone have information on American physicians working in Germany? I know about working at Landstuhl as a contractor but trying to find other options if this doesn't work out.

Mar 1, 2012
Status
Medical Student
sorry i cant help you,but am just curios why leave the USA and come to Germany ? , in USA i heard doctors have a high pay (minim 150K per year) while in Germany doctors are running away to Switzerland and Holland and Nordic countries because of the poor pay (facharzt pay is about 60k euro =about 85k dollar i think/year) ... .. i am in a dilemma right now because i am studying for the Step1 and also learning German because i dont know where it is better!. hope i didnt annoy you, but if you have time to answer my question please,i would be grateful :).

med_heidelberg

10+ Year Member
Aug 28, 2006
Status
Resident [Any Field]
Fluency in German is key to landing a job if it is not on a military base. In this case, your US medical training would have to be recognized as equivalent by the medical board in whichever state you work, and this should be no problem at all of course. EM in Germany is a bit different in that EM docs will work in the field as well and drive their own emergency vehicles around. If you are looking to work at a military base, I imagine it is different and you may not need to speak German to get one of those jobs since you will be working mainly with American patients.

About the Ads

navyerdoc

5+ Year Member
May 3, 2012
Status
Attending Physician
ahmedd- I'm moving to Germany for love. I know how that sounds, but it's true. I'm not so much concerned about money anymore. It doesn't have to be a great job, but I do need a job.