Job market short term and long term?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PhotonProton

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a third year medical student and thought I wanted to do Rad/Onc until I read some of the experiences some of the people here are posting about. I am not saying that I am applying for something else, but it's scary to hear some PGY-5's not having a single interview and their PD's not touching them with a 5 foot pole. My question is, do you think the job market is terrible just for now, or if there is any chance on the horizon in the next 5-10 years for it to improve?

Also, how would the field need to change to improve the job market besides decreasing the number of residents graduates?

Thanks for your responses!

Members don't see this ad.

I am not into the field, but life doesn't work that way. Expect it to get worse or stabolize.

My question is, do you think the job market is terrible just for now, or if there is any chance on the horizon in the next 5-10 years for it to improve?

Two words: internal medicine
I'd kill to be an internist right now.

I am a third year medical student and thought I wanted to do Rad/Onc until I read some of the experiences some of the people here are posting about. I am not saying that I am applying for something else, but it's scary to hear some PGY-5's not having a single interview and their PD's not touching them with a 5 foot pole. My question is, do you think the job market is terrible just for now, or if there is any chance on the horizon in the next 5-10 years for it to improve?

Also, how would the field need to change to improve the job market besides decreasing the number of residents graduates?

Members don't see this ad :)