job offer

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr. Ice

Attending
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
new to the job hunt...heres one offer I got...group consisting of one anesth pain, one nurse prac (and potentially me). 3 offices, about 30 min from each other, split during the week, 95% in office procedures...230k base for the first year, then the second year, base + 25% production over 500k billed. Plus the standard other stuff...4wk vaca, 401k, med/dental, 1 week cme. Call for hospital consults only shared amongst the three practitioners.

Im new to this, but doesnt the 25% production seem a little low??

Anyone have any comments or advice??

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Depends if it is 25% of the gross, or the net.

Im assuming its the gross...

low?

Members don't see this ad :)
I doubt its for over 500K billed, more likely collected. Nonetheless, you can do better.

what would be a reasonable production bonus?

40%?

My memory is, you are in the NY metropolitan area. If the position is as well, it is a VERY competitive marketplace, and so your salary expectations need to be tempered accordingly.

its actually in eastern PA, close to northern NJ which I suppose is still a competitive marketplace...nevertheless...would 40% production be a reasonable request or would I be pushing it considering I will be a new grad out of fellowship??

what would be a reasonable production bonus?

40%?
Assuming 50% overhead, 25% represents a 50 - 50 split of the remaining revenue. That is fairly typical.

What about after the second year? If it's just for the second year, that's reasonable while you cut your teeth and prove yourself.

thats just for the second year, and then its negotioable after that.