Job Prospects as a new Dentist ?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Preetesh

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I am a Dental Student and will be graduating in May '15. I was wondering how are the job prospects for a fresh graduate dentist in San Diego (I also will be needing H1B work visa sponsorship ) .. Which Cities currently are the best to practise ( in terms of salary ) in CA and overall US ?

Members don't see this ad.

lol not again :)
Anywhere in central Cali farmland would be best: (~90-100K) Western readily sponsors H1Bs
Major cities in central Cali would be a bit less than that and more competition with seasoned dentists.
SF, SD, or god forbid LA: game over.

I live in North county SD area (suburb) and there's 23 dental offices on one street alone.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hi All,

I am a Dental Student and will be graduating in May '15. I was wondering how are the job prospects for a fresh graduate dentist in San Diego (I also will be needing H1B work visa sponsorship ) .. Which Cities currently are the best to practise ( in terms of salary ) in CA and overall US ?

San Diego is ridiculously competitive. Salaries are very low. $300-$400 per day. I recommend you be open to relocation and work for one of the chains that sponsor employees.

lol not again :)
Anywhere in central Cali farmland would be best: (~90-100K) Western readily sponsors H1Bs
Major cities in central Cali would be a bit less than that and more competition with seasoned dentists.
SF, SD, or god forbid LA: game over.

My friend's sister worked for a dentist in OC for 3 years and recently bought his practice. Game over? Hardly.

My friend's sister worked for a dentist in OC for 3 years and recently bought his practice. Game over? Hardly.