tigress

queen of the jungle
10+ Year Member
Nov 29, 2004
Status
Resident [Any Field]
I know there are tons of threads about this, but another (and more individualized) couldn't hurt.

Here's the deal: I quit grad school because I hated it, and now I need a job. I'm studying for the MCAT, so I would preferably like to start working right after that. I'm applying this summer/fall for entering class of 2006. I don't have much clinical experience, and while I will be shadowing a doc, I was thinking a job in a clinical setting would of course help me the most. I'm open to anything, though. The one other very important part of this is that I'm hoping to have a baby before med school, so whatever I do will have to be do-able while pregnant.

One friend suggested a pharm tech, which isn't clinical but is at least medically related. She did that, and was trained on the job, so she didn't need any certification going in. I have also considered some sort of medical secretary position, like in a hospital ward. From what I can tell, the hospital tech positions that actually involve patient contact all require some sort of certification.

Any advice on what to look for and especially how to go about looking would be appreciated. Should I just contact a bunch of doctors I know in the area and ask them if they know of any jobs? Should I look now for employment in 5 weeks, or wait a few weeks to look? I'm totally clueless; my only past job experience is working in a summer camp and working as a legal secretary in my mother's office.

thanks so much in advance for any advice!

OP
tigress

tigress

queen of the jungle
10+ Year Member
Nov 29, 2004
Status
Resident [Any Field]