Jobs in the medical field (clinically oriented)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Unis

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hopefully this is the best place to post this question (if not please advise me!). I am hoping to apply to medical school this year. I have a Masters in Science and I used to work in a research lab. I want to look for jobs in the medical field that are more clinically geared/oriented as opposed to research oriented. I really want and need that clinical exposure but I really don't know what kind of jobs are out there for me. I've looked for jobs online and so many of them are research or things like clinical coordinators for those with associate degrees or specialized licenses.

Can someone here help me/inform me about jobs in the medical field that are clinically oriented that can use me, someone with a B.S./M.S., and is looking for a clinical environment. (Please!!!)

Members don't see this ad.

What I (and many others) did: FORGET your BS/MS, go to community college and get your 11 credit EMT certification, then get a part time job driving ambulances one day a week. Or, you could probably just take a CPR class and get a job at a nursing home changing sheets. Nothing glamorous, but if your school cares about clinical experience this is what they want to see.

Phlebotomy, CNA, EKG, EMT-B, and shadowing are the most common sources of clinical experience.

In terms of actually working in the field:
EMT-B has the most variable return and is the most flexible. Phlebotomy is more predictable.reliable in terms of what to expect when you finish.

With your degree, you can probably find a job in one of the diagnostic labs in a hospital.