Johns Hopkins School of Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CTSurg

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
If you have any questions about Hopkins, I am a fourth year student there. Good luck to all of you in the application process...

Members don't see this ad.

CTSurg said:
If you have any questions about Hopkins, I am a fourth year student there. Good luck to all of you in the application process...

Hi, thanks for your offer. I was wondering what you'd say were the best and the worst aspects of your time at Johns Hopkins. Thanks in advance.

hey, I"m applying to Hopkins, have interviewed and am waiting for a reply. Why did you choose Hopkins? what is the clinical experience like that? How about competitiveness? The students there said it was very non competitive, but I would like a different view. Thanks very much!

It really isn't any more competitive than any other school. I have many friends at medical schools around the country and they all have similar experiences in the first two years. I think that Hopkins has notoriously been labeled as competitive, but without anything to really back it up.

During your first year, you have an insane amount of free time. This allows you to explore things outside of med school. Extracurriculars, research, the city, etc...

During the second year, life begins to get a bit more difficult. However, the way the year works is you are slowly transitioned into longer and longer work days until you are eventually at school from about 8am to 5pm some days. Now this scares some people, but don't forget that the wards know no hours!! If people are complaining about too much work during the preclinical years, then they are in for a shock when they begin their clerkships.