Joining the National Guard in Residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrMcCoyDO

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all. I’ve been searching the forums but couldn’t find any information specifically related to emergency physicians and the National Guard. I’m a new EM intern, married, living in a fairly high cost of living area, and I’ve been looking into the STRAP program. I’ve been interested in serving in the military in the past, so I thought this might be a good way to give me the opportunity to serve while allowing me to supplement my income in residency. Before I jump into anything, though, I want to know truth and not the fudged information that I know military recruiters give.

Has anybody done something like this? How long do deployments as an EM physician generally last? How often are you generally deployed as an EM physician? And does your status as a National Guard member cause any difficulties in finding a job or potentially doing a fellowship after residency? Thanks in advance for the advice!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello all. I’ve been searching the forums but couldn’t find any information specifically related to emergency physicians and the National Guard. I’m a new EM intern, married, living in a fairly high cost of living area, and I’ve been looking into the STRAP program. I’ve been interested in serving in the military in the past, so I thought this might be a good way to give me the opportunity to serve while allowing me to supplement my income in residency. Before I jump into anything, though, I want to know truth and not the fudged information that I know military recruiters give.