Just got first semester grades back .. am I already doomed?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BostonB

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I was an English major undergrad (graduated with a very mediocre 3.5 GPA) and am now starting the path toward med school. I just finished my first semesters of introductory bio and chem in an informal post-bac program and just got back grades of a B and B+ respectively. I think I had a bit of a shock initially, because I work full time.

Anyway, have these grades doomed me already? When I first started down this road I got into a formal postbac program, but they wanted me to work for a year first (which I'm in the process of doing ... I did an internship at a surgery clinic, and am now full-time in research) so I suppose I still have the option of starting over there in May if these grades are really going to screw me over.

What should I do? :( Thanks guys.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
So I was a history and English major undergrad (graduated with a very mediocre 3.5 GPA), went the law route, hated it, and am now starting the path toward med school. I just finished my first semesters of introductory bio and chem in an informal post-bac program and just got back grades of a B and B+ respectively. I think I had a bit of a shock initially, because I work full time and have not taken a science class since I was a junior or senior in high school (I got out of doing it in college w/ AP credits; I am now 25).

Anyway, have these grades doomed me already? When I first started down this road I got into a formal postbac program, but they wanted me to work for a year first (which I'm in the process of doing ... I did an internship at a surgery clinic, and am now full-time in research) so I suppose I still have the option of starting over there in May if these grades are really going to screw me over.