phishphan

15+ Year Member
Jan 16, 2001
philadelphia
Status (Visible)
Message...Can you just explain a little bit more about this letter you received and why you view it as a marketing tool? I am sure many are not familiar with this DPM-MD program, at least not me.

THanks

the message

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Mar 12, 2001
cleveland, OH,44120
Status (Visible)
Well Phisphan! NYCPM, in collaboration with IUHS(another school in the West Indies) is offering this combined program that will lead to your DPM and allow you to sit for the USMLE examinations by accepting credits from NYCPM. If the DPM is not sufficient, close the f%@#ing school down. NYCPM claims that they have the most attractive program of the seven podiatry schools, which is the reason why IUHS came to them. They will go to any extreme to get students it seems! I will go as far as to expose the program at NYCPM by giving you a response in the podiatry forum by a NYCPM student:

"I am a pod student who is transferring to Barry U from the New York CPM. I'm glad because I am going to Barry where students have passed the boards 100% of the time (the first time they sat) for the last four years. Barry students are also in the top residencies in the nation. I'm not trying to sway your opinion but you will soon realize that it is not necessarily where you start with a school but where you end up. Unfortunately at NYCPM I did not see success as 7 people failed the boards this year (which is an improvement as 20 students failed last year.) I know NYCPM will produce many fine doctors but you have to be concerned about reasoning behind MD/DPM programs, and giving away Palm pilots and laptop computers to those who successfully recruit students. Find a school that you are confident will help you become the best physician and person, because the profession greatly needs more of these people (as do all!). Welcome to the profession my best wishes to you!"

About the Ads

efs

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member