Just got scores back - Here's how I studied, take it with a grain of salt.

Pkboi24

Don't laugh at my SN
10+ Year Member
Jan 8, 2005
Status
After years of browsing SDN, reading people's posts about their high scores, and feeling the need to hide my less than adequate numbers behind a veil of shame, it is finally my turn.

255 BABY! - I probably sound like a jackass but we all deserve our moment in the limelight.

Anyways, I thought that since everyone on SDN just eats this stuff up, I'd share how I studied for this monstrosity of an exam.

I studied for a total of 9 weeks. The plan was 8 but I pushed back a week at the end. I was nearly about to push back another week but poor planning and a $108 prevented me from doing so.

My 4 main tools of study: First Aid, USMLE World, Flash Cards, and NBME practice tests

The overall structure of my method (if you can call it a method): Read one chapter, do one relevant USMLE World section. Repeat until finished with First Aid. Do all NBME Practice tests and reread material from questions you missed. Day before test, don't study. I tried to study the day before but all it did was make me nervous. I got no sleep and went into the test dead tired. Just read the high yield section of First Aid in the back and call it a day.

First Aid: This is your bible. I found that it was best to read small chunks at a time. A lot of people say to go through it 2-3 times. I only went over the entire thing once and then selective pages and chapters as needed while I did questions.

USMLE World: The format of the actual test is EXACTLY like this. The buttons of the program and the layout and font are exactly as you will see it test day. The real thing has shorter stems and many of the questions are much more direct, requiring only 1-2 step reasoning.