Just looking for some advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ChellaBeats

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just wondering what you guys think my chances are and also looking for some feedback. So I graduated last year from Purdue University with a degree in exercise science and am currently back in school finishing up my pre-med requirements. My GPA was a 2.4 and I know that most of the people on here are going to question why I'm even considering trying to get into med school. My GPA was so low due to being a varsity athlete during my undergrad as well as having 4 surgeries over the 5 years that I was there. Each surgery left me with a recovery period of 4 to 6 months which makes maintaining a decent GPA a little hard. As much I as I wanted to quit the sport I loved and transfer schools to start over.... I convinced myself to finish what I started. I am now back in school at Ohio State and am almost done with my first year of biology and general chemistry. I got a 4.0 last quarter and am on track to get a 4.0 again this quarter. I've already taken anatomy/physiology, medical terminology, and pathophysiology during my undergrad and received all A's in them as well. I still need to take O chem, physics and will select a few other upper level biology courses. I will also be taking the MCAT as soon as I'm done with O chem and physics. I know that a lot of you are going to ask if I can even handle the coursework of med school and the answer is YES. Now that I am healthy and am able to focus on school, the pre-med courses are proving to be fairly easy. On top of classes I am working full time. I currently have a full year of paid clinical work at a private practice, am a certified x-ray tech, regularly shadow doctors of various specialties (some of which even teach at the med schools I am looking at), have volunteered at 5k runs benefitting cancer as well as sports camps for kids, and have logged over