just need some advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CarerraGT

5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just like the Title of this post states, I need some advice.

After reading a lot of information on this site, it seems to be implied (from what I gather) that research is looked upon favorably (especially if you are published) when looking for residencies. Now my situation is this: Currently I am a graduate student wrapping up my coursework and I have research that I am working on that falls in the neuroscience field. The medical school that I have been admitted to is not far from my graduate school (nor my residence where I will be next year). I have been given the opportunity to expand on my thesis where it has a very good chance of being published within the next year (and maybe even crank out 2 papers by the end of MS2). So, should I continue my research (where I have already gathered the skills necessary to do that work) or start off fresh in medical school? I am not sure which is better to do.

Also, my PI stated that I can even get paid on an hourly basis if i come in during the evenings to work on the research - so not only do I get paid, I will have a really good chance of putting out a paper or two. What do you think?

Members don't see this ad.

Hmm, well if you enjoy and are interested in your project then I would go for it. Research and publications are definitely a plus to any application although it's not necessarily required. Also, you have to consider whether or not you will have the time to continue your project during the school year. It can be done, but I'm sure it would be tough. Good luck!

Yeah, stick with what you've got. TO get where you are starting in medical school will take extra time you don't need to spend. Don't try to reinvent the wheel, roll on the one you got.

C

Members don't see this ad :)