Just needing some insight, please!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gizem926

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all-

New here and just wanting to get some feedback. My situation is not a good one as of now and i realize that, so constructive criticism please!
As of Fall 2009 I am a 4th year undergrad student in Texas, majoring in sociology...I always was interested in medicine and the idea of becoming a doctor always seemed way out of reach for me. To cut it short, I want to go to medical school and become a doctor. I realize its a long journey from here on out but i know its what I want now.
Here is what I have:
I have only taken Chem1-received a C, Bio 1 - a B, and the chem lab- B. Here is what is terrible: I took bio2 in the summer and managed to fail it twice. so there are two big D's on my transcript. With everything else, (I have alot of hours) I have a 2.7. I realize that the answer is obvious here: study and get good grades. But I am just trying to form a path for myself and know if i'm doing it the correct way. I should be done by May 2011 with all the prereqs, but is that even enough time to raise this gpa? What are your thoughts? Should I consider a post-bacc program? Does anyone know any other details on the UNTHSC-FortWorth or UTdallas's program?
As far as other things, I think i am on track. I am lab tech assistant in a clinic, involved in research at my school, and volunteer at a hospital. I have physician shadowed before, but no longer have time with my job. Open to any thoughts!!

Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

Also, is it true that DO schools replace scores if you retake the class? I ideally want an MD but realizing I cant be too picky anymore. Thanks!

http://www.washington.edu/uaa/gateway/advising/downloads/gpamcat.pdf

Im really not trying to be mean or arrogant.

Chem1=C
Bio1=B
Bio2=D,D