Just Psychotherapy??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

stigmata

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I find it more than a little weird that many students, interns and even practicing psychologists think that psychological clinical work is mostly or all psychotherapy? In a recent post in the advanced practice psychology thread, some asked me "if you don't do psychotherapy, what do you do" in response to me posting about integrating psychopharmacology into clinical practice. Of course as an RxP trained psychologist I do quite a lot of medication consultation assessments, but I have always done quite a lot of diagnostic assessments and those 2 forms of clinical assessment make up most of my practice. Am I the only one doing this?? I don't think so. When I say assessment I am not talking about a full psych eval, but good old fashioned clinical interviewing. Note to students, it is much more profitable to do clinical assessments, meds or no meds and make referrals to appropriate services than doing psychotherapy as a majoe part of your practice.

Members don't see this ad.

so you can prescribe and do med assessments in Wyoming?

Members don't see this ad :)
Can you expand on that please...:)

I am not sure what you want me to expand upon? I spend most of my clinical time doing medication consultations.

I can't imagine doing "psychotherapy only". It would be a poor cost/benefit choice for most anyone who pursues a Ph.D. or Psy.D. to only do therapy. If I had my druthers I'd spend 0% of my time doing therapy.

I currently do a very approximate 25-25-25 percent split of my time doing research-related activities, advising and consulting with clinical staff, and doing psychological assessment. About 10 percent of my remaining time is administrative stuff, and with that final chunk remaining I do psychotherapy with patients (typically brief therapy).