Dismiss Notice
Check out the new Application Assistant, where you can calculate your LizzyM score, see how you rank compared to other applicants, and see a list of schools where similar students were accepted.

MD Just scored a 38, what do I do now?

Discussion in 'What Are My Chances?' started by toogoofy, 09.18.14.

1. SDN is made possible through sponsorships and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. toogoofy

toogoofy 2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    So I took the mcat Aug. 15th and scored a 38 (12/13/13). Before I started preparing for it I didn't think I'd score so well and now I'm not sure what I should focus on to boost my chances at the top 20's. I am currently a junior in undergrad and am a proud contributed to the 30+ MCAT Score thread.

My Stuff:
    I attend a small unknown liberal arts college.
    GPA: 3.93 (sGPA: 4.0)
    MCAT: 38 (12/13/13)
    Research: .5 years on one project that didn't interest me. Beginning this year I started on another project testing new rheumatoid arthritis drugs on a mouse model that spontaneously develops RA.
    Leadership:
    President of a homeless outreach organization run by my school
    VP of Prehealth club: we aren't very active though.

Miscellaneous:
    Medical service trips to Mexico (2x, 1 week) and Bolivia (4 weeks).
    Exercising in my spare time: half marathon, triathlon, paddle boarding, etc.
    Shadowing: 16hrs. with Cardiologist

Other than maintaining my GPA, what else should I work on?

Research wise, I'm not sure if I have a chance at being published as my PI is just starting this project. Also, would doing a senior thesis project be worth it since the top 20's like research experience?