Just some random questions...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DoctorSaab

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
ok, i dont know jack about how to succeed and get into a school of dentistry or medicine

being a freshman in university...

1. when would u recommend that i do voluntary work... and what kind of voluntary work

2. im taking intro chem (2 semesters) this year... what shall i take next yr?

3. when shall i start buying the DAT review guides... and start reviewing???

4. when u guys talk about overall science GPA... what does that mean? is it like grades overal in science classes? does it play as a significant factor?

4. umm should i really be worrying?? im starting to feel this pressure... even though im only a freshman! i think its mostly due to the people i talk to... they are scaring the hell out of me!!

Members don't see this ad.

My answers (colored by personal experience and opinions):

1) Best time to volunteer is obviously during the summers. I would try to see if I can observe procedures at a hospital's oral surgery unit if I'm interested in getting into dental school, or maybe a summer enrichment program at a dental school, or even just shadowing a private dentist.

2) What class you take after g-chem should be whatever you feel comfortable with. Most guys take o-chem after finishing g-chem, but it's up to you.

3) The best time to take the DATs would be while the relevent subjects (bio, chem, o-chem, basic math) are still fresh in your head. So if you finished the bio, chem and o-chem pre-req courses by the end of your sophomore year, I'd take the summer to study for the DATs and take it in August before your junior year starts.

4) Science GPA = GPA of all the science courses you took. Competence in science courses is obviously important because you will be taking loads of advanced science courses in dental/medical school.