Just took the DAT, What are my Chances? 16QR 18TS 18AA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dg404

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone.

I just took the DAT and I'm not really happy with my scores.

PA=20
QR=16
RC=20
BIO=19
GEN CHEM= 18
OCHEM=17
Total Science= 18
Academic Average= 18

I feel like maybe the pressure of the test and timing got the better of me. Based on my practice tests I was expecting a little higher. I'm worried about my QR. Ive heard the cut off is right on 16 so I'm not sure how much this might affect me. I have 3.45 Science GPA and a 3.50 Overall GPA. I work as an dental assistant and I think I have good extracurriculars. I'm also Hispanic (if that makes a difference). Any input or advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone.

I just took the DAT and I'm not really happy with my scores.

PA=20
QR=16
RC=20
BIO=19
GEN CHEM= 18
OCHEM=17
Total Science= 18
Academic Average= 18

I feel like maybe the pressure of the test and timing got the better of me. Based on my practice tests I was expecting a little higher. I'm worried about my QR. Ive heard the cut off is right on 16 so I'm not sure how much this might affect me. I have 3.45 Science GPA and a 3.50 Overall GPA. I work as an dental assistant and I think I have good extracurriculars. I'm also Hispanic (if that makes a difference). Any input or advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks
17 is a cutoff, but I think for QR they might be tolerant. 18 is maybe average or slightly below average in respect to accepted applicants. You have a decent GPA. I assume your applying next cycle because you just took the DAT and applying now will maybe be detrimental. So if you cannot take it again, just be hopeful, but if you want a firm answer just take it again within the year. Although people do get into dental schools with your similar stats, so its up to you if you want to be hopeful or confident.