Just witnessed something interesting today

Discussion in 'General Residency Issues' started by agranulocytosis, Dec 5, 2008.

1. agranulocytosis

Physician 10+ Year Member

Fellow [Any Field]
    Our team's interns were given an assignment yesterday by the team's attending (I am a 3rd-year med student). They were told to present data and their own analysis of that data of huge drug trials like ALLHAT and ACCOMPLISH in front of the entire team.

In the process, one of the interns mistakenly understood the implications of a trial and was subsequently torn apart by the attending. Evidently the entire purpose of the assignment was to give the interns the tools necessary to evaluate drug trials so that they could prescribe medication they felt was safe according their analysis of the trials.

Have any of you guys have experienced something similar to this? Is this something that I should expect as an intern, not that it's a terribly bad/hard thing to keep up on? For the record, this is a community residency program.

2. RTrain

RTrain National Merit Finalist
    2+ Year Member

Fellow [Any Field]
    Yes, you should definitely expect that. This is a huge part of residency education, designed to teach you how to critically read the medical literature when you are practicing independently. You'll need to be able to evaluate evidence to determine if it is valid, if it proves or disproves what the authors say it does, and if it applies to your patient population.

You'll have many opportunities to work on this skill, including journal clubs, team assignments like the one you describe above, and independent reading and research. My medical school had a whole course on it (Evidence-Based Medicine in the 4th year) which has given me an edge during residency.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. DarthNeurology

5+ Year Member