Kaplan FL 1 vs AAMC 3

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pathologyDO

MS-3
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello there! My MCAT is setup for June 21st and I am studying Kaplan material 8-14 hrs 6 days a week until that time. Here's where I am at:

Kaplan Diagnostic
: 23 (7P, 7V, 9B)
* This was after week 1, or just 1 week from today

Kaplan FL 1: 25 (8P, 6V, 11B)

AAMC 3: ?

As the above suggests I am going to be taking the AAMC 3 exam here shortly to see the difference between my scores. I think the main reason I performed so badly on the FL1 was because I was stressed about timing and was naive in thinking that passage mapping was actually going to reduce the time I spend on questions, when in reality it felt like I actually took MORE time to map them out on paper.

So, I will post my results tonight/tomorrow for comparison. Just to throw it out there, I took the FL 1 yesterday, so I have not studied much at all in between these.

Members don't see this ad.

After taking the AAMC 3, I can now say a few things:

* AAMC gives you easier to comprehend questions

* Kaplan tests more for critical thinking while AAMC tests more for content understanding in physical sciences

* AAMC is way easier because less critical thinking is involved, but their scoring is much harsher

My score on the AAMC 3:

26 (8P, 8V, 10B)

which is 1 point higher than the Kaplan FL 1 I just took. My Verbal went up 2 pts while bio went down 1. Although I scored the same in physical sciences on both exams, I missed 15 questions total in that section, and 5 of them were on the same passage involving harmonics! Of course, the one thing we never covered in Physics II is what ruins my score haha. So if I had been familiar with that then my score would probably a couple points higher really.

Anyways, what is your experience with Kaplan vs. AAMC?

Also, how do you Kaplan'ers' increase your verbal scores? Just doing Q-Bank?