KimCox

Discussion in 'Clinical Rotations' started by bossman1818, Oct 24, 2001.

1. bossman1818

bossman1818 Junior Member
    10+ Year Member

Hi
    I was just wondering, I am a Canadian student currently applying to Irish Medical schools, and someday I hope to land a general surgery residency in the States. Can you just give me some kind of idea about how possible this dream/plan is of mine. If I do well in school, is it qutie possible, or am I destined for IM!!! thanks

2. Winged Scapula

Winged Scapula Cougariffic!
    Staff Member Administrator Physician Faculty Lifetime Donor Verified Expert Classifieds Approved 15+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    Obviously its possible - otherwise I wouldn't be here. General Surgery, like most other fields, runs in cycles with regard to its popularity. Right now its at its ebb - 5 years from now, around when you will be applying, the situation could be quite different.

Being a Canadian contemplating attending a foreign school, I am sure you aware of the difficulties in practicing medicine in the provinces. Therefore, I assume you will be applying to US residencies - the difficulties in getting one depends on so many factors that I would be unfair for me to assess your situation. The best you can do is the best you can do.

Best of luck to you and feel free to email me (my email is listed in my profile) if you should have further questions.

3. tussy

tussy Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    bossman,

I am a canadian general surgery resident. I am curious as to why you are considering an american gen surg program rather than doing your residency in Canada. Canadian gen surg programs are excellent, and are well respected south of the border. Many canadian residents go south of the border following their residency and are quite frequently accepted into quite competative fellowships.

4. Winged Scapula

Winged Scapula Cougariffic!