Lab assistant (clinical)/gap year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Doe22

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I posted a while ago here about working as an optometric assistant during a gap year that I have taken to improve my application. I'm taking the MCAT in January. GPA=3.87. bio major. Clinical volunteering ~600 hrs, non-clinical ~100 hrs Research since June 2019 in a lab in the med school at my University. Most of the work in the lab was volunteering, but some hours went towards my degree. No publications, but was selected for an oral presentation in a conference which got cancelled due to COVID-19. No major leadership positions. I was a tutor in an ESL program, a peer mentor in my college for a semester, a kids' marathon mentor for a summer program (supervised kids while training and ran the marathon with them). Participated in a CPR event that took place on campus, in which I trained tens of people. Shadowing ~40 hrs two specialties. Volunteering as a COVID-19 screener since July.

Long story short, I have taken this gap year to improve my application due poor EC's. I applied for multiple positions heard back mostly from Lab assistant jobs I applied to and ended up accepting a Job offer. I have read a lot of things on here regarding this type of job (some say it's clinical some say it's not). I understand that this is a lab assistant position which is different from research assistant. Most of the work will be routine. Preparing specimen, handling specimen, taking in and entering orders.... etc. Patient interactions is not a major aspect of this job. However, there are many doctors (pathologists) working in the department, of course.

Any thoughts on this? does anyone have an experience or worked a similar job that they found to be helpful on the application?

Members don't see this ad.