FloridaMed09

10+ Year Member
May 10, 2008
Status
Hey all, I'm planning to apply to med school this coming cycle and I just met with an adviser who seemed pretty doom and gloom about my chances. I hope no one thinks this is a troll thread because it's my first post, I made a new account because my other name contains private information.

My situation:

I'm a chemical engineering student and decided to go into medicine my junior year. I got back my junior year and began volunteering in the hospital which I did for 3 semesters. This past semester I did nothing while I was taking classes and studying for the MCAT because I really didn't know what my schedule would be like and didn't want to commit to anything that might get in the way of my MCAT studies (wanted to spend 3 months and be done with it because I was on a bit of a time crunch).

I've done research since my sophomore year including a semester abroad (Japan) doing research there (resulted in presentation and abstract), spent a semester in Korea, been an RA, a chemistry TA, held positions in an engineering club, etc.

GPA: 3.82
MCAT: Unknown, expecting mid 30's give or take a few (33-37)

I am a Florida resident and will definitely be applying to 3 Florida schools (UM, USF, UF). I intend to shadow a doctor in July but unfortunately can't do it any earlier so it won't be on my AMCAS.

So essentially I was told that my chances are not very good and that I might not even get secondaries some places (Florida namely). I was told that the clinical exposure I have is insignificant and that while it may not kill my application, it's going to be difficult. I feel like by the numbers I'm a pretty solid applicant, I've done some pretty unique EC's and have a pretty unique life story, but what he said really bothered me a lot.

Should I be worried? I know my volunteering isn't as significant as many but is it so insignificant that it would prevent me from getting secondaries and interviews, especially at Florida schools?