Mar 5, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
So I'm in my second semester Junior year, applying for medical schools in two months. I led a study from freshman year first semester lasting maybe 20 hours total. I've played soccer my whole life and have been the captain/organizer of an intramural team every semester and one summer since my freshman year. I have also been mentoring a freshman who works at my lab doing research. Next year I plan on being a biology undergrad TA and a board member of the pre-med club that I have been in for the past 3 years. None of my current leadership activities seem very substantial. Am I wrong? And will next year's commitments be enough to give me at least average leadership experience if I don't get accepted this year?

Last edited:

bravofleet4

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jan 17, 2009
Status
Medical Student
there's just a checklist of things you want to have on your application to cover all your bases and this includes things like hobbies/interests, research, leadership, clinical experience, community service, traveling abroad, teaching, and etc. however, you don't need all these things to have a decent application. it's really more about the big picture. being a science TA is nice but adding it wouldn't make much of a differerence if you've already impressively listed publishing a couple research papers. in that case, it would kind of get lost in your superb research background. overall, adcoms are looking for some sort of theme that interweaves the entire application that tells them what kind of person you are whether for example you are a humanitarian versus a research scientist. I'm not saying you can't be both but they're looking for coherence.