Lack of research- is that REALLY bad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

woodhorse22

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi.. I am senior graduating in May and applying this year for medical school after retaking my MCAT in April. However, I have no solid research experience and thus no publishing, etc.
My GPA is a 3.92 and I have lots of volunteer experience and shadowing experience. I should be able to get a 27-29 MCAT score this April. In addition, I will have solid letters of recommendation from my unviersity's health science recommendations committee. In this year that I will have off, I plan to do an EMT B course and perhaps work as one in a hospital. However, I will have no research experience.
Will this keep me from getting into medical schools in Illinois? I believe that I might be able to compensate for that lack of research with some EMT experience. Please offer your thoughts.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi.. I am senior graduating in May and applying this year for medical school after retaking my MCAT in April. However, I have no solid research experience and thus no publishing, etc.
My GPA is a 3.92 and I have lots of volunteer experience and shadowing experience. I should be able to get a 27-29 MCAT score this April. In addition, I will have solid letters of recommendation from my unviersity's health science recommendations committee. In this year that I will have off, I plan to do an EMT B course and perhaps work as one in a hospital. However, I will have no research experience.
Will this keep me from getting into medical schools in Illinois? I believe that I might be able to compensate for that lack of research with some EMT experience. Please offer your thoughts.

You will need a higher MCAT score than that, I would think

Members don't see this ad :)