Lack of spousal emotional support

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr Sum Day

Lifetime Donor
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Anyone married out there that has a spouse with little patience in your goals? Mine, is fine for awhile then if she gets stressed about work she'll take it out on me and mention that I should be supporting her. I have to re-assure her everytime.

Members don't see this ad.

i studied with someone last year who was in a similar situation. her husband basically said he wanted a divorce if she was serious about getting into medicine.

when I last talked to her she was still thinking about it. The way she talked about him it sounded like he wanted a stay at home wife or something. She is too smart and too goal oriented to ever be that.

A spouse should be supportive, granted medicine will be a strain on you but on him/her but to me that is what marriage is all about.

Sorry to hear about your unsupportive wife.

Unfortunately, this is something where you need your spouse fully supporting you! My husband is 100% behind my being in med school, but its still hard on him (and me) because I'm studying all of the time and he has to take care of lots of things that I used to do for us/family/house/etc.

Can you find a positive med-student spouse that can talk with your wife?

Members don't see this ad :)
Well, at this time I don't know any med-student spouses. Also, my wife is in Korea and I'm IMing here as I write this...multi-talented ;) , when I get into med school, she'll be happier b/c she will know that my goal is near. She doesn't like uncertainty---whether I'll get in this year or not.

Originally posted by dpw68