1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Hey Guest! Check out the 3 MCAT Study Plan Options listed in the 'stickies' area at the top of the forums (BoomBoom, SN2ed, and MCATJelly). Let us know which you like best.

Also, we now offer a MCAT Test-Prep Exhibitions Forum where you can ask questions directly from the test-prep services.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Last day to take MCAT? Should I postpone?

Discussion in 'MCAT: Medical College Admissions Test' started by xela07, Jul 25, 2011.

1. xela07

Pre-Medical
    I graduated from an ivy last June and was planning to take my MCATs next Friday. Although I have been studying for 1.5 months, my scores on the practice test in the BS section are consistently low (~5-6). I have been getting ~10-11 VR, ~9-10 PS.
    My GPA is 3.4 and 3.2 (science) and I am underrepresented minority. My home state is PA. I already submitted my AMCAS stating that I would take the MCAT on July 29th. I have applied to 20 schools (the max allowed by my institution).

I am thinking of postponing until August 18, 19 or 23rd.

My questions are:
    - Can I postpone the MCAT for a month and still apply to start at an MD school in Fall 2012?
    - I understand that I will have a decreased chance of acceptance given that admissions are rolling, but isn't it better than getting a very low BS score.
    - Will there be any issues with my AMCAS if my MCAT scores don't actually appear until later?

Thank you for your help and advice!

#1 xela07, Jul 25, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2011
  2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. asrikrishnan

7+ Year Member

MDApps:
    Pre-Medical