Late committee letter

Discussion in 'Physician Scientists' started by Datypicalpremed, 05.21.14.

1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. Datypicalpremed

Datypicalpremed SDN Gold Donor Gold Donor 2+ Year Member

MD/PhD Student
    I recall in a previous post that for the previous application cycle, the earliest MD/PhD interview dates were in late August with the bulk being in October-November. But is late August when MD/PhD adcoms start reviewing complete applications?

My school won't be sending out the committee letter until late August (Sept 1st being the latest date for a committee letter being sent out). Granted, they "may" send out the letters earlier like in mid-August (maybe if I keep bugging them about it...), but this is not guaranteed. I am a recent grad, so submitting without a committee letter could be a red flag and make secondaries slightly harder...

So given this information, do you all think its better to submit individual committee letters and get the complete application in by late July/Early August or should I submit with a committee letter and get a complete application in up to a month later?

Thanks!

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. Thimble

Thimble 5+ Year Member

Pre-Medical