JackyLin

7+ Year Member
Mar 29, 2010
Status
Hey guys, just wandered into the site by chance when I was looking up some stuff for MCAT, and this seems like a perfect place to gain much valuable information. I am currently an undergraduate sophomore in UCSD, with spring quarter just starting. Up until recently I have not had the goal to try to enter a decent medical school (was aiming to do something with psychology), but now I've changed my major, and I was wondering whether it is too late to get into a good MD by the time I graduate. I have basically nothing on ECs that is of related importance, and my projected GPA by the end of junior year is cGPA 3.72ish, and sGPA 3.7ish. I would really like any constructive advice on where I should go now as it seems to be so much to do and I am overwhelmed ><

Sep 4, 2006
Inside the tesseract
Get some clinical experience started ASAP. Look into research options at your school. Start some nonmedical/noncampus community service. Think about leadership and teaching experiences. Your GPA is good; keep it there.

bravofleet4

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jan 17, 2009
Status
Medical Student
this is a good time to investigate undergrad research. i would go visit my counselor to see if your school has a website listing undergrad research opportunities or e-mail a professor you've taken a class with before and whose research you find interesting. that way you can start during the summer or in the fall which would be perfect.

also talk to any pre-med friends or visit the school counselor to ask about clinical opportunities near UCSD. You want a weekly activity that you can put in like 4/hrs per week. it can be at a free clinic, hospital, or nursing home.