Law Student in Medical IP, now seriously considering med school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TX_1990Ferg

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there,

I'm currently a 3L law student that is considering applying for medical school (TX Resident) once I completed my last year of law school. My whole life I've always loved medicine and planned on going into medical school. However, during my sophomore year of undergrad I shifted my path towards law. This was due to terrible grades resulting from trying to double major in Computer Science and Biology(basically trying to still knock out my med school prereqs) starting my sophomore year. My uGPA breakdown is this:
Freshmen Year: 3.32 as just Bio major
Sophomore Year: 1.62, compsci & bio, yeah terrible grades from my CS classes
Junior: 3.22 year I switched to polisci
Senior : 3.53

As you can tell, my second year destroyed my overall gpa. However, one bright spot is that my science gpa can be salvageable. Specifically, i only took three biology classes (bio 1 & 2, and Genetics). Therefore I have a chance to redeem my science gpa by completing the med school pre reqs once I'm done with my law school. I did the math and it can reach to about 3.65, but my cumulative gpa is still low.

Currently, this fall I will be working at UTMB's in-house legal office that develops patents and IP rights for the medical research performed by the doctors, fellows, and medical students at UTMB. I might do the same in the spring for UT Houston. These internships are part of a hospital law program at my law school. I was hoping these internships will look positive and unique on my med school application. Plus I enjoy patent and IP law anyway.

Basically, my main question is do I have shot at med school even though I completely bombed my second year by failing my Computer Science classes?
Thanks for taking the time to read my long post.

Members don't see this ad.