Learned I have a likely fatal medical condition (IM intern) - help me leave family secure

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ActinRocker

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Title pretty much has the gist of it. I am a categorical medicine intern at a generally well regarded program. I just found out I have a serious medical condition and while I had initially planned to try for a cards or GI fellowship, I don't know if I'll have the time to do that. I have a wife pregnant with twins who teaches high school. We have a lot of loans from my medical school and very little savings. I'm afraid I will die and leave her with nothing so I'm thinking about just getting out of IM residency in 3 years and trying to work as hard as I can to save up as much as possible for my family.

I've never really thought about salary before, but this is now a big concern and I'm hoping you guys could help me out. I've heard IM starting salaries are like $150k in my area (northeast). Are there certain jobs or certain places I could look move to that would help me to make more than this? I'm willing to work as hard as I can through treatments, etc.

I know asking for advice about money sounds callous and I apologize. I am simply very concerned about my family's future. I don't want to leave my wife and kids with nothing, especially after her support throughout medical school.

Edit: I don't actually know how accurate those starting salaries are. I don't want to be a douche my 2nd month of intern year and ask around too much about this.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hey, sorry I don't know any useful information for you, but I did want to say good luck with your endeavours. I hope you find the job that you are looking for and make a killer earning for your family!!

Last edited: