Least stressful psychiatry residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

navdoc47

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a physician (DO) in the Navy practicing general medicine, and I plan to apply for psychiatry residency programs in a few years when my commitment is complete. I completed a psychiatry internship w/the Navy. I could easily enter a Navy psychiatry residency, however I'm looking to get out.

I have difficulty dealing with high levels of stress (ie call/workload), so which programs in your opinion are the least stressful? I could care less which programs are the most prestigious - I just want a program that will result in board certification with the least amount of pain as possible :D

Members don't see this ad.

I have difficulty dealing with high levels of stress (ie call/workload), so which programs in your opinion are the least stressful? I could care less which programs are the most prestigious - I just want a program that will result in board certification with the least amount of pain as possible :D

At the San Mateo program, your only overnight call is qweekly in the psych emergency service as a PGY1. Upper levels do not take evening or overnight call.

-AT.

Depends on the program. You need to ask about their own specific call schedules.

In general most psychiatry programs I've seen have much more laid back schedules vs other medical fields. However I have seen some in NYC where they make you work very very hard.

North General--you were on call Q3 and they were all nighter calls. They also wanted you to work 6 days a week.

My own program is pretty laid back (UMDNJ Robert Wood Johnson at Camden & Atlantic City Regional Medical Center) We work 5 days a week, you're on call about about every Q5-6 days as a first year, you have to do 1 weekend call a month.