Leaving medicine, what are the options?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

benignjay

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a Cardio intern, I completed med school in June. Though I still want to be involved in science, I've decided clin practice isn't for me. My plan is to do a Master's program in Biomedical engineering. After being rejected from a program bcus of my non-engineering background, I did some research, & it seems it's not the easiest pathway to follow. My questions are:

1. Which universities are more likely to accept a MD graduate for their Master's Bme program?

2. What other Master's programs can I do that are accustomed to accepting Medical school graduates?

I have great passion to be a biomed engineer but I'll like to know my other options as well.

Members don't see this ad.

I think some schools have engineering grad programs for those without an engineering background (U of Chicago if I remember correctly), so you could check those out. But, speaking as someone who graduated with a BME degree, good luck getting into any engineering grad program without an engineering background regardless of med school experience. BME grad programs aren't for learning about biomedical engineering. It's for building upon your already-existing BME knowledge in order to specialize in a field, so I'd be surprised if there are reputable BME programs that accept those without an engineering or heavy-quantitative background.

You could always get a masters in public policy or healthcare administration. You're in the right forum for questions about that.

Members don't see this ad :)